FIBA Women: Field set for Women’s Basketball World Cup 2018

Canada (Image: FIBA)

The field of 16 teams that will participate in the FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup 2018 is set following the conclusion of the 2017 FIBA Women’s Continental Cups.

Here is a breakdown of the teams and the results they achieved at the Continental Cups in order to qualify:
FIBA Women’s AfroBasket 2017: Nigeria (champions) and Senegal (2nd place).
FIBA Women’s AmeriCup 2017: Argentina (2nd place), Canada (champions) and Puerto Rico (3rd place).
FIBA Women’s Asia Cup 2017: Australia (2nd place), China (3rd place), Japan (champions) and Korea (4th place).
FIBA EuroBasket Women 2017: Belgium (3rd place), France (2nd place), Greece (4th place), Latvia (6th place) and Turkey (5th place).

Spain and the United States of America qualified automatically for FIBA’s women’s flagship competition as tournament hosts and reigning Olympic champions respectively.

The action will take place from September 22-30, 2018.



Post a Comment