GOI announces Cash Rewards for Mariyappan, Devendra, Deepa & Varun Bhati

World Chess Championship 2016 Latest Indian Sports News Current Sports News Headlines Sports News Today Headlines Current Sports News Cricket News Live Today's Sports News Today's Cricket News Cricket News India Indian Cricket News Paralympics News 2016 Indian Super League Season Indian Super League Table Today's Football News English Premier League Winners Champions League T20 Champions League Schedule

(From Left) Mariyappan Thangavelu, Deepa Malik, Mr. Modi, Devendra Jhajharia & Varun Singh Bhati (Image Credit: Twitter)

New Delhi: The Central Government, yesterday, announced a total cash reward of Rs. 90 lakh for the four medalists of Rio 2016 Paralympics.

Mariyappan Thangavelu, who won gold in Men’s T42 High Jump event and Devendra Jhajharia, who won gold in Men’s F46 event creating a new record, will be awarded Rs. 30 lakh each. Deepa Malik who won silver medal in the shot put F-53 event with 4.61m mark will be awarded Rs. 20 lakh, While Varun Singh Bhati who won bronze in Men’s T42 High Jump (same event; India took both Gold and Bronze) event will get Rs. 10 lakh.

The cash reward will be dispensed by the GOI’s ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment and by Minister Thawar Chand Gehlot under the Awareness Generation and Publicity (AGP) scheme.

Speaking about the plan, the Minister, Mr. Gehlot said, “Indian para-athletes bagged impressive four medals at the Rio Paralympics 2016 and made history. The success of para-athletes has made India proud. The department has decided to give a cash prize of total Rs. 90 lakh to the medal winners.”

The Indian Paralympic Contingent which featured 19 Para-athletes won 4 medals (2 golds, a silver and a bronze) in the recently concluded Rio 2016 Paralympics. This was the best ever performance by the Indian Paralympic Contingent at the Paralympics. Devendra Jhajharia is India’s first Paralympian to be honored with Padma Shri in 2012; he was awarded Arjuna Award in 2004. An Arjuna Awardee, 17 international medals, 58 national gold medals, Asian record in Javelin throw, world championship silver medal in shot put and discus throw, Deepa Malik has also been a thorough winner.

The Olympic contingent, however, had a poor show as 119 Athletes could ensure only two medals, with PV Sindhu winning Silver in Women’s Singles Badminton and Sakshi Malik winning Bronze in Wrestling.



Post a Comment