Indian Squads announced for Zimbabwe and West Indies tour

Sandeep Patil (Image credit: Zee News)

The selectors have picked 16 man squad for the limited overs tournament to be held in Zimbabwe and a 17 man squad for the test series in Caribbeans.

India will play 3 ODIs and 3 T20s under the captaincy of MS Dhoni in Zimbabwe.

The team consists of several surprise selections along with players who were expected to be a part of the team. Big names like Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina and Rohit Sharma have not been picked.

Chairman of Selection Committee, Sandeep Patil told the reporters on Monday, “No one has been rested. No one wrote to BCCI or called us (to say) they were not available or they should be rested. It was the decision of the selection committee to pick a young side for Zimbabwe and another side for West Indies.”

Krunal Pandya, who impressed everyone with a series of fine performances in IPL is a surprise non-inclusion to the squad.

Full Squad for Zimbabwe – MS Dhoni (c)(wk), KL Rahul, Faiz Fazal, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, Ambati Rayudu, Rishi Dhawan, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Jaydev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahal

A 17 man squad was also picked that will tour West Indies in the months of July and August  to play 4 tests. Virat Kohli will captain the side while Ajinkya Rahane will be the vice captain. Uncapped Mumbai pacer Shardul Thakur has been included in the squad.

Full squad for West Indies: Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), R Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Stuart Binny



Post a Comment