Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis have qualified for Brisbane International Final

Mahela Jayawardene, Marylebone Cricket Club, 2016 Indian Super League Season, Anurag Thakur, BCCI, Champions League Schedule, Champions League T20, Cricket News India, Cricket News Live, Current Sports News, Current Sports News Headlines, England India Match, England India Test Match, England India Test Series, English Premier League Winners, Indian Cricket News, Indian Super League Table, Latest Indian Sports News, Law, Lodha Commission, Paralympics News, Perjury, Sports News Today Headlines, Today’s Cricket News, Today’s Football News, Today’s Sports News, World Chess Championship 2016, news headlines of sports, current sports news, hockey india, news headlines of sports, latest news, live cricket score,news, cricket score, ball by ball, latest news, latest news india,sports news, www.sports, live score, ipl, isl,football, soccernet, score, Top 10 Sports, Top 15 Most Popular Sports Websites, Top 5 Most Popular Sports Websites, Most Popular Sports Websites, goals,MCC, Sangakkara,Alla Kudryavtseva, Andreja Klepac, Martina Hingis, Sania Mirza, MCC Honorary Life Membership, Muttiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas

Image Credit:

Indian tennis ace Sania Mirza and a her Swiss Partner Martina Hingis continued their unbeaten run by grabbing their 25th victory together and have entered the International Brisbane Finals.

They knocked out their opponents in the first set before facing any resistant in second.  They had beaten Slovak-Russian combination of Andreja Klepac and Alla Kudryavtseva 6-3 7-5 to go for the final triumph.

They will be against the winner of second semi-final between Spanish team of Anabel Medina Garrigues and Arantxa Parra Santonja and the German wildcard pairing of Angelique Kerber and Andrea Petkovic.

Sania and Hingis are currently at number one in world rankings.

“It’s been a long time since we’ve lost, but it’s never easy to start a new season, especially when you’re coming off such a great season. Everyone’s gunning for us – we’re the hunted,” Sania said. “We’re just taking it one match at a time, stay positive, and pick up from where we left off”.

The Indo-Swiss pair has won the five titles in a row last season with consecutive 25th unbeaten winning streak. They have leveled the winning streak of the Italian pair who had also won the five titles in a row and had a winning streak of 25 matches.

The Italians had also won five titles in a row, at Barcelona, Madrid, Rome, the French Open and ‘s-Hertogenbosch before their run came to an end in the Wimbledon. “I think we’re off to a great start in the new season.

We never really felt like we finished in 2015 – I played the Indian league and Sania played IPTL, so we still kept our routine,” Hingis said. “We’re really happy to have the possibility to be in another final here, and win another title,” she added.

The last doubles team to win more than 25 matches in a row was Gigi Fernandez and Natasha Zvereva who notched up 28 victories in a row way back in 1994.



Post a Comment