Home Cricket

England T20Is: West Indies name 13-member Squad

Jason Holder
Jason Holder (Image: Facebook)

Two-time World T20 champions, West Indies, have named the 13-member squad for the three-match Sandals Twenty20 International Series against England. Jason Holder will lead the Caribbean team.

The two teams have met 15 times in T20 Internationals. The Windies have won 11 times. The most famous result was the victory at Eden Gardens in Kolkata in April, 2016. West Indies won the ICC World T20 trophy for the second time then.

Sports in Hindi: खेलपत्र का अभी प्रचलित

Jason Holder named Captain

The Cricket West Indies Selection Panel has named Jason Holder as captain for this series. The panel has kept the core of the squad which played in the five-match Colonial Medical Insurance ODI Series.

Chairman of Selectors Courtney Browne said the aim is to give as much exposure as possible to the hopefuls for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 in England and Wales in a bid to continue planning towards the marquee event. Jason Holder, therefore, will lead the squad for this Series only, while Carlos Brathwaite remains the bonafide T20 captain.

Automobile: ताज़ा खबर कार समीक्षा

“After discussion with the coach surrounding preparation for the ICC CWC 2019, it was proposed that we retain the ODI squad to play the T20 matches against England. After deliberations with captain, coach and the panel, we all are of the opinion that it would aid in the team’s World Cup preparations,” Browne said.

“We have a triangular series in Ireland in early May, which coincides with the Indian Premier League. A high number of the World Cup hopefuls will be involved in the IPL and will miss the tour to Ireland. We therefore, felt, that we could not miss this opportunity for the coaching staff to continue work towards finalizing their strategies.”

Technology: How mobile technology is changing world

Browne added: “We were very impressed with the way the team played in the recent Colonial Medical Insurance ODIs. To bounce back and level the series 2-2 against the Number 1 ranked team in the world was a great performance. We wish Jason Holder and his team all the best in the Sandals T20 Series, and we wish them more success as we continue preparation towards the ICC CWC 2019.”

This is the third phase of the tour. West Indies won the Test Series 2-1 to capture the prestigious Wisden Trophy while the five-match Colonial Medical Insurance ODI Series ended 2-2, with one match being rained out.

Banking: Banking and financial news

Chris Gayle holds the record for the highest score between the two teams. His memorable 100 not out off 48 balls happened at the Wankhede in Mumbai during ICC World T20 2016 tournament. Krishmar Santokie, the left-arm seamer, has the best bowling by a West Indian against England. His 4-21 came at Kensington Oval in 2014.

The Sandals T20 International Series begins on Tuesday with a day/night contest at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground. First ball is 4 pm (3 pm Jamaica Time/8 pm GMT).

In Cricket: IPL 2019 at SportsCrunch

Squad: Jason Holder (Captain), Fabian Allen, Devendra Bishoo, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, John Campbell, Sheldon Cottrell, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Ashley Nurse, Nicholas Pooran, Oshane Thomas.

Match Schedule

1st Sandals Twenty20 International- Daren Sammy Cricket Ground – Tuesday, March 5

2nd Sandals Twenty20 International- Warner Park – Friday, March 8

3rd Sandals Twenty20 International- Warner Park – Sunday, March 10


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here