India A thrash Western Australia 4-1 in Australian Hockey League

Affan Yousuf (Image credit- Twitter)

Perth: The Indian men’s hockey team kicked off their Australian Hockey League campaign in style as they handed a thumping 4-1 defeat to Western Australia on Friday.

The goalscorers for the Men in Blue were Armaan Qureshi (6th minute), Affan Yousuf (30th minute), Amit Rohidas (45th) and Talwinder Singh (50th) as they went past the Australian side with ease.

Lyam Flynn scored the only goal for Western Australia in the 56th minute.

Beginning on an attacking note, the Indian team looked to pile up pressure on their opposition and it paid off as they were awarded a penalty corner as early as in the sixth minute. Armaan Qureshi made full use of this opportunity and put his team ahead as the India A continued to lead 1-0 at the end of the first quarter.

In the second quarter, it was Western Australia who were awarded a penalty but they failed to capitalise on it and level the scores as Indian goalie Krishan Pathak pulled off a fantastic save to help India maintain their lead.

The Indians were further rewarded as a result of some well-organised passing as it was Affan Yousuf this time who got his name written in the goal-scorer’s list with a brilliant field goal in the 30th minute to help India A go 2-0 up in the match at the end of the second quarter.

Even in the third quarter, the Indians continued to dominate the proceedings with having most of the possession and their lead was further extended by Amit Rohidas in the 45th minute. Talwinder netted the fourth for India in the 50th minute to make sure that the match was won.

Liam Flynn of the Western Australian team however pulled one back for the hosts through a field goal in the 56th minute.

In their next pool B encounter on Sunday, India A would compete against New South Wales.




Post a Comment