Home Hockey

India need to improve on Discipline & Responsibility, says Sjoerd Marijne

Sjoerd Marijne
Sjoerd Marijne (Image: Facebook)

Tomorrow, Chief Coach Sjoerd Marijne’s Indian Women’s Hockey Team will face hosts Malaysia in the opener of their 5- match Malaysia tour.

The team is afresh from their recent good outings and will try to extend their success while learning more about their game and how they can be a formidable side in Big tournaments.

Sports in Hindi: खेलपत्र का अभी प्रचलित

The Team led by goalkeeper Savita, after a successful outing in Spain earlier this year where they beat the hosts, 2018 Women’s World Cup Bronze Medallists, once (5-2), drew twice (1-1 and 2-2) and lost (2-3). The team had further improved with a 1-1 draw and 3-0 win against Ireland who won Silver at the 2018 Women’s World Cup.

The Indian team will be looking at repeating their feat with a victorious Tour in Malaysia.

In Cricket: IPL at SportsCrunch

Speaking of the five-match bi-lateral series, Chief Coach Sjoerd Marijne said, “Always raising the bar is not easy, that demands discipline and taking responsibility. That ownership is again one of the main areas I would like to see our team improve. Our challenge is not our opponent but always ourselves.”

Technology: How mobile technology is changing world

The last time India met Malaysia in a big event was at the 2017 Asia Cup where they had beaten Malaysia 2-0 in the round robin league before winning the title in a tense Final against China.

“It is difficult to say how they play as we have not played against them in a while but the last time I saw Malaysia was during the Asian Games in Jakarta and that is a while ago. From what I saw there, they like to play long aerial balls and like to defend with a lot of passion,” Marijne said.

The match is scheduled on April 4, 2019 at 16.30 hours IST. These tours are part of the preparations for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics Qualifying event later this year.

Indian Team: Savita (C), Rajani Etimarpu, Salima Tete, Sunita Lakra, Deep Grace Ekka, Reena Khokhar, Rashmita Minz, Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, Monika, Karishma Yadav, Nikki Pradhan, Neha Goyal, Lilima Minz, Jyoti, Vandana Katariya, Lalremsiami, Navjot Kaur & Navneet Kaur.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here