Home Cricket

IPL 10: Daredevils stun Sunrisers by 6 wickets

Kolkata: Delhi Daredevils stopped a high-flying Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Indian Premier League on Tuesday after they beat the David Warner led side by six wickets with five balls to spare at the Feroz Shah Kotla in New Delhi on Tuesday late evening.

Batting first, Sunrisers got off to a good start as both the openers- skipper Warner (30) and Shikhar Dhawan (28) scored 53 runs in just 5.2 overs. But Delhi Daredevils fought back courtesy Mohammed Shami (2/36) showed glimpses of him returning to form. It was towards the end, that Yuvraj Singh found his rhythm when he hit an unbeaten 70 (41). Moises Henriques (25*) too added some finishing touches to​ the total of 185.

In reply, Delhi batsmen , Sanju Samson ( 24), skipper Karun Nair (39), Shreyas Iyer (33) and Rishabh​ Pant (34) put on a team effort before a Corey Anderson blitzkrieg of 41* blew the Hyderabad side away.

With this win, Delhi are on the sixth position and Hyderabad, despite a poor outing are on the third place.

Brief scores:

Sunrisers Hyderabad 185/3 (Yuvraj Singh 70*, David Warner 30; Mohammad Shami 2/34) lost to Delhi Daredevils 189/4 in 19.1 overs (Corey Anderson 41, Karun Nair 39; Mohammed Siraj 2/41) by 6 wickets.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here