Home Polo

Indian Stars aim Big at Northern India Polo Championship 2019

Simran Shergill, Indian Polo Star at Northern India Polo Championship 2019
Simran Shergill (Image: Facebook)

Indian Polo stars like Simran Shergill (+6), Shamsheer Ali (+6), Dhruvpal Godara (+5) and Samir Suhag (+5) along with the likes of Englishmen Matthew Perry (+6) and Tom Brodie (+4), and Argentine Manuel Fernandez Llorente (+6), will be among those vying for the prestigious La Pegasus Polo Northern India Polo Championship 2019, scheduled between February 19-24 at the famous Jaipur Polo Ground in the National Capital.

Chief of Army Staff (COAS), Gen. Bipin Rawat, is expected to be the Chief Guest for the final. Quarter Master General of the Indian Army, Lt. Gen. Ashok Ambre is also expected to attend the final.

Read in Cricket: Kuldeep Yadav gets Career Best Number 2

The Sanjay Jindal founded La Pegasus Polo, one of India’s upcoming premier Polo establishments, continues in its endeavor to promote the sport and its players by bagging three-year sponsorship rights of the tournament, which is the toast of the Polo fraternity across the nation and the highest level of Polo, played in India.

Incidentally, La Pegasus Polo are also the defending champions of this High-Goal (16 Goal) tournament, held under the aegis of the Indian Polo Association (IPA) and conducted by the Army Polo & Riding Centre (APRC).

Read General News in Hindi: दिल्ली-एनसीआर में बढ़ा सर्दी का पारा

The La Pegasus Polo Northern India Polo Championship 2019, will as always, be promoted in a big way, by the Indian Army.

Commenting on La Pegasus Polo bagging the sponsorship rights for three years, Hon. Sec. IPA, Col. Ravi Rathore +5 Handicap Polo Player, VSM & Arjuna Award winner for Polo said, “We are very happy to have La Pegasus Polo sponsor the top attraction of Delhi’s Spring Polo season, the Northern India Polo Championship and more so because it is a long term commitment. We at the IPA have been working closely with La Pegasus Polo for a long time now and they have been doing a stellar job in growing and promoting Polo in India. This will be another feather in their cap and I congratulate Sanjay Jindal for his vision, passion and commitment.”

Read news from Olympics: Medal Project to reach the goal by 31st March

Speaking about the Northern India Polo Championship 2019, Mr. Sanjay Jindal, Patron & Founder La Pegasus Polo was also naturally upbeat at the development saying, “It is a great honour to be able to associate La Pegasus Polo with a tournament as prestigious as the Northern India Polo Championship and I thank the IPA for providing us with this opportunity. La Pegasus Polo is committed in its endeavor to promote Polo, which has its roots in this great country. Our first ever Polo centre in Sakatpur, Gurugram, and the recent successful Test tour of the world beating Argentine High-Goalers was a reiteration of that commitment and this association is another step in that direction. We wish all participating teams the best of luck and success.”

He further added, “With LA Pegasus Polo being one of the Co-sponsors of the biggest Polo tournaments in the World of Polo, it was inevitable that it got involved with one of the Highest Goal tournament of the Indian season as well. We also want to look at this tournament attracting some international teams from next year onwards.”

This tournament has been played every year since 1922 as a 16 Goal Polo Tournament.

From ISSF Junior World Cup: Shooters win big in Air Rifle

The ‘NORTHERN INDIA POLO CHAMPIONSHIP’ trophy is played for the ‘RATLAM CHALLENGE CUP’ which was donated by the then Maharaja of Ratlam in 1922 at Delhi, also known as ‘Prince of Wales’ commemoration polo tournament. The Jodhpur Polo team won the first tournament played that year.

Last year, the La Pegasus Polo team beat Sona/Jindal Panther 9-7 in the finals to win the title.

Among the four to five teams expected to participate will be the likes of Sahara/Rajnigandha, Sona Polo, Jindal Panthers, Garcha Hotels and Aravalli Polo apart from the La Pegasus Polo team.

Diplomats, celebrated industry leaders and royalty such as the British High Commissioner, Argentina’s Ambassador to India, Sawai Padmanabh Singh of Jaipur, Naveen Jindal, Sanjay Kapoor, dot com multimillionaire Satinder Garcha and Karan Thapar, patron of Aravalli Polo, are also expected to attend or participate.

Northern India Polo Championship 2019 Schedule

La Pegasus Polo Northern India Polo Championship 2019 Tournament Schedule


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here