Home Rugby

Rugby U20: Host Cities announced for World Trophy in 2018 and 2019

World Rugby U20 to be hosted at Romania and Brazil
(Image: Facebook)

Today, the World Rugby has announced Romania and Brazil as the host countries of the next two World Rugby U20 Trophy events.

Romania, who hosted the World Rugby Nations Cup hosts on many occasions, will host the age-grade competition between 28 August-9 September, 2018 at the Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf in Bucharest.

Sports in Hindi: खेलपत्र का अभी प्रचलित

Brazil, who are making significant strides on the international stage, will host their first World Rugby 15s tournament in 2019 with the Estádio Martins Pereira in São José dos Campos the location for the 9-21 July event.

World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said: “Our U20 Championship and Trophy events are cornerstones of the player development pathway to test rugby.

Automobile: ताज़ा खबर कार समीक्षा

“We are delighted that Romania and Brazil will host the next two editions of the Trophy. I know that they will be exceptional hosts and provide the teams with a superb environment to perform.”

Romanian Rugby Union President Alin Petrache said: “The Romanian Rugby Union is honoured to be hosting the World Rugby U20 Trophy. Our passion for organising competitions and the past experiences we had with the Nations Cup tournaments are surpassed by a very special opportunity.

Technology: How mobile technology is changing world

“We hope that, with the support of World Rugby, the Ministry of Youth and Sports and all our partners, this will be the event we all hope for, a memory for a lifetime about Romania and high-quality rugby.”

Brazilian Rugby Union Chief Executive Agustín Danza said: “The Brazilian Rugby Union is extremely happy and honoured to be selected as hosts of the U20 Trophy in 2019 for the first time.

Banking: Banking and financial news

“The U20 Trophy is a tournament of great tradition that gathers the future stars of our game. To have it here in Brazil represents a unique opportunity for us, as rugby is a fast-growing sport in Brazil and hosting international events is a very important part of our strategy to keep the game growing. This event will prove invaluable to bring new fans to the game and to showcase Brazil to the world.”

The eight-team line up for the 2018 Trophy is now complete after Canada beat USA 82-62 on aggregate last week to claim the Rugby Americas North place.

In Cricket: IPL at SportsCrunch

Hosts Romania will be joined by Samoa, Africa champions Namibia and Asia champions Hong Kong in Pool A. European champions and 2017 runners-up Portugal are the top seeds in Pool B and will face South American champions Uruguay, Oceania qualifiers Fiji and Canada.

The winner of the U20 Trophy will be promoted to the World Rugby U20 Championship in 2019, replacing Japan who were relegated after finishing bottom of the 2018 edition in France last weekend.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here