Home Hockey

Sultan Azlan Shah: Manpreet Singh to lead Indian squad

Surender Kumar will be the Vice-Captain of the Indian Team

Indian Team for the 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019
Indian Team for the 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019

India on Wednesday named the 18-member Indian Men’s Hockey Team for the 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019. The Tournament is scheduled to begin in Ipoh, Malaysia on 23 March 2019. Manpreet Singh will captain the side.

The prestigious annual tournament will see hosts Malaysia, Canada, Korea, South Africa, India and 18th Asian Games Champions Japan in the fray.

In Cricket: IPL at SportsCrunch

The Indian team features experienced goalkeeper PR Sreejesh and youngster Krishan B Pathak in the goal-post while the defense will see Vice Captain Surender Kumar joined by Gurinder Singh, Birendra Lakra, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam along with dragflickers Varun Kumar and Amit Rohidas.

Manpreet Singh will lead at 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019:

In the midfield Skipper Manpreet Singh will lead the charge alongside young guns Vivek Sagar Prasad, Hardik Singh, Sumit and Nilakanta Sharma. The forward line will see Mandeep Singh, Simranjeet Singh, Gurjant Singh, Shilanand Lakra and Sumit Kumar.

Sports in Hindi: खेलपत्र का अभी प्रचलित

The Indian team who begin their campaign against Japan on 23 March 2019 will miss the services of experienced forwards SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Lalit Upadhyay, and defenders Rupinder Pal Singh, Harmanpreet Singh as well as midfielder Chinglensana Singh who were unavailable for selection due to injury.

Junior players Vishal Antil and Pardeep Singh too were not available for selection of the Indian team for the 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019 owing to injury. These players will continue to undergo rehabilitation at the Sports Authority of India, Bengaluru.

Automobile: ताज़ा खबर कार समीक्षा

“It is unfortunate we will be missing some key players for the 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019 due to injury. However, it is important for them to return to 100 per cent fitness ahead of the FIH Series Final, Bhubaneswar Odisha 2019 which is a crucial tournament in our quest for 2020 Olympic berth and hence will continue to remain in Bengaluru and work on their rehabilitation,” stated David John, Director High Performance, Hockey India.

Speaking about the Indian team for 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019, John said, “It is a relatively young side but each of these players have tremendous potential and have a good amount of International exposure. It is important to see how they fair in Malaysia as it will show the depth we possess in the Core Group ahead of the Olympic Qualification events this year.”

Technology: How mobile technology is changing world

The Indian Team will leave for Ipoh, Malaysia from Kempegowda International Airport, Bengaluru on 18 March 2019.

Indian Hockey Team: Krishan B Pathak, PR Sreejesh (Both Goalkeepers); Gurinder Singh, Surender Kumar (Vice Captain), Varun Kumar, Birendra Lakra, Amit Rohidas, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam (all defenders); Hardik Singh, Nilakanta Sharma,  Sumit, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Manpreet Singh (all midfielders); Mandeep Singh, Simranjeet Singh, Gurjant Singh, Shilanand Lakra and Sumit Kumar (all Strikers).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here